The Scuola Grande di San Rocco is a building in Venice, northern Italy. It is remarked for its collection of paintings by Tintoretto, generally agreed to include some of his finest work. It's a lay confraternity founded in 1478. The confraternity is still active today, carrying out its traditional charitable duties as well as looking after its extraordinary artistic patrimony.
The Palazzo Santa Sofia is a palace on the Grand Canal; one of the older villas in the city, it is known as Ca' d'Oro ("golden house") due to the gilt and polychrome external decorations which once adorned its walls. Since 1927, it has been used as a museum, under the name Galleria Giorgio Franchetti. The palace was built between 1428 and 1430 for the Contarini family, who provided Venice with eight Doges between 1043 and 1676. The architects of the Ca d'Oro were Giovanni Bon and his son Bartolomeo Bon. The principal façade of Ca' d'Oro facing onto the Grand Canal is built in the Bon's Venetian floral Gothic style.
The Gallerie dell'Accademia is a museum gallery of pre-19th-century art in Venice; housed in the Scuola della Carità on the south bank of the Grand Canal, in the sestiere of Dorsoduro. It was originally the gallery of the Accademia di Belle Arti di Venezia, the art academy of Venice, from which it became independent in 1879, and for which the Ponte dell'Accademia and the Accademia boat landing station for the vaporetto water bus are named.
Santa Maria Della Salute is a magnificent domed baroque church, commonly known just as the Salute, with unique octagonal design and sacristy housing 12 works by Titian.
Imposing Gothic-style church, usually just called the Frari, completed in the 1330s, housing two works by Titian along with his tomb.
Public reference library, Renaissance building, with lavish design by Sansovino & a significant manuscript collection. Recognized as one of the earliest surviving public manuscript depositories in the country.
A masterpiece of Gothic architecture, the Doge’s Palace is an extraordinary structure formed of layers of building elements and decoration, from its 14th and 15th century original foundations to the significant Renaissance and sumptuous Mannerist adjunctions. The construction is made up of three large sections, incorporating previous plans. The wing towards the St. Mark’s Basin is the oldest, rebuilt from 1340 onwards. The hall towards St. Mark’s Square was built in its present form from 1424 onwards. The canal-side wing, housing the Doge’s apartments and many government offices, dates from the Renaissance and was built between 1483 and 1565.