A masterpiece of Gothic architecture, the Doge’s Palace is an extraordinary structure formed of layers of building elements and decoration, from its 14th and 15th century original foundations to the significant Renaissance and sumptuous Mannerist adjunctions. The construction is made up of three large sections, incorporating previous plans. The wing towards the St. Mark’s Basin is the oldest, rebuilt from 1340 onwards. The hall towards St. Mark’s Square was built in its present form from 1424 onwards. The canal-side wing, housing the Doge’s apartments and many government offices, dates from the Renaissance and was built between 1483 and 1565.