The Molo Audace is located on the shores of Trieste, in the middle of the city, near to Piazza Unità d'Italia. The name "Molo Audace" is given by the first boat that success to enter to the port of Trieste after the First World War and the annection to Italy.
This cave is located in the village of Borgo Grotta and is a perfect example of the underground karstic nature, is present in the Guinness Book of Records as the tourist cave with the largest room in the world. Just to make the idea of the impressive dimensions of this cavity: one of the rooms in the cave called the "Great Cave" has 98.50 meters in height, 167.60 in length and 76.30 in width. The deepest point reached by the tourist route is 101.10 meters deep.
The cave of Torri di Slivia is considered one of the most beatiful cave of Triest Carso. Deep more than 100 meters, it develops in various rooms decorated with families of stalactites, tubular, curtains and stone chandeliers. An incredible variety, which makes her famous in the speleological world and also an example of active protection of naturalistic site.
This easy path offers beautiful glimpses and panoramic views of the city and the Gulf of Trieste. It is known as the Strada Vicentina, or, as the residents of Trieste call it, the Strada Napoleonica (Napoleonic Way). The path connects Opicina to Prosecco and measures five kilometres (for those interested in walking the entire route). Set amidst verdant nature (you can follow a wide gravel path or one of the narrower trails through the woods), the route is sheltered from the Bora, with occasional sunlit stretches.
Kleines Berlin (Little Berlin in German) is the complex of underground air-raid tunnels dating to World War II, which still exists in Trieste.
Miramare Castle is a 19th-century castle on the Gulf of Trieste near Trieste, northeastern Italy. It was built from 1856 to 1860 for Austrian Archduke Ferdinand Maximilian and his wife, Charlotte of Belgium, later Emperor Maximilian I and Empress Carlota of Mexico, based on a design by Carl Junker. The name "Miramare" resulting from spanish, means "see the sea", because while the archduke was visiting the headland, he was insipired by the memories of spanish castles faced to the coasts of the Atlantic Ocean and the castle became his residence.
Realized between 1754 and 1766 by Matteo Pirona, the Canal Grande was a key element of the new urban plan that led to the construction of Borgo Teresiano. Present-day Borgo Teresiano (from Corso Italia to Piazza della Libertà) was once an area of salt marshes, now completely reclaimed. The channels perpendicular to the seafront were surveyed extensively and plans were made to excavate them in order to expand the navigable area of the city and allow easy loading / unloading of goods at canal-side warehouses, but the project was later abandoned and the Canal Grande remained the city's only canal.