The square was built in the middle of the 1500's and was the main entrance to the city of Rome. The obelisk in the center was taken by Augustus from ancient Egypt. In its southern part we find the two churches of Santa Maria dei Miracoli and the Church of Santa Maria in Montesanto. Opposite to the two churches is the Porta del Popolo, a work created by Bernini. On the east we find the climb to reach Pincio's terrace.