In 1925, President of A.C. Milan Piero Pirelli called for the construction of a soccer stadium near the Hippodrome for Trotting Races. Though a perfectly fine ground, it soon turned out to be too small for the club’s growing number of fans, and therefore architect Stacchini, also responsible for Milan’s central station, was hired to design an entirely new stadium. Stadio San Siro officially opened on 19 September 1926 with a friendly match between Milan and Inter (3-6). The stadium initially consisted of four separate stands and could hold 35,000 spectators. The “Temple of Soccer” is now the home of thousands of fans, hosting an average of two matches a week during the sport season.