Constructed in 1318 in Ligurian gothic style by the Maestri Antelami, the church of Santa Margherita d'Antiochia rose on a pre-existing XI century building. It was built on a rock in front of the sea, with an impressive 40 meters belfry adorned by a pointed shape dome. It had three aisles and was widened in the XVI and XVII century. According to the tradition, the church was built because a wooden box with the bones of Saint Margaret was found on the beach. But the inhabitants decided to build the church in the Isolotto quarter and a strong sea storm destroyed it and the relic got lost. Time after, it appeared again in the original point and the population then erected a new church there, where it stands now.