The Castle of Riomaggiore was built in the 13th century by order of Marquis Turcotti, lord of Ripalta, and it is one of the most important historical edifices in Cinque Terre. Indeed, the construction works were initiated by the marquis in 1260, but they were completed by the Genovese, after a period during which the property passed to Nicolo Fieschi. Back then, the Republic of Genoa was interested in strengthening the defensive system of Riomaggiore, and the castle was part of this project.
The square-based castle overlooks the sea, and, at its turn, it is overtopped by two circular towers which flank the entrance. In time, the castle underwent significant structural alterations, not to mention it was also used as a cemetery (in the early 19th century). The Oratory of Saint Rocco is located in the vicinity of the castle. At present, the edifice is used for cultural purposes, being home to sundry events. It can be reached by climbing the abrupt road which leads from the train station to the castle. It is also accessible from the courtyard of the Church of Saint John the Baptist of Riomaggiore. The castle is also locally known as Castellazzo of Cerrico.