The Basilica of Saint Francis (Italian: Basilica San Francesco) is a historic church in the city of Bologna. Founded in the 13th century, it has been the property of the Conventual Franciscan friars since then. The church has been raised to the rank of a basilica by the Holy See.
The Basilica of San Petronio is the main church of Bologna, Emilia Romagna, northern Italy. It dominates Piazza Maggiore. It is the tenth-largest church in the world by volume, 132 metres long and 66 metres wide, while the vault reaches 45 metres inside and 51 metres in the facade. With its volume of 258,000 m³, it is the largest (Gothic or otherwise) church built of bricks in the world.The basilica is dedicated to the patron saint of the city, Saint Petronius, who was the bishop of Bologna in the fifth century. The construction was a communal project of Bologna, not of the bishops: the property was a symbol of communal power that was not transferred from the city to the diocese until 1929; the basilica was finally consecrated in 1954. It has been the seat of the relics of Bologna's patron saint only since 2000; until then they were preserved in the Santo Stefano church of Bologna.
The Basilica of San Domenico is one of the major churches in Bologna. The remains of Saint Dominic, founder of the Order of Preachers (Dominicans), are buried inside the exquisite shrine Arca di San Domenico, made by Nicola Pisano and his workshop, Arnolfo di Cambio and with later additions by Niccolò dell'Arca and the young Michelangelo.
The Certosa di Bologna is a former Carthusian monastery (or charterhouse) in Bologna, northern Italy, which was founded in 1334 and suppressed in 1797. In 1801 it became the city’s Monumental Cemetery which would be much praised by Byron and others. In 1869 an Etruscan necropolis, which had been in use from the sixth to the third centuries BC, was discovered here. The Certosa is located just outside the walls of the city, near the Stadio Renato Dall'Ara, at the foot of the Monte della Guardia and the Sanctuary of the Madonna di San Luca. The public cemetery was established in 1801 using the pre-existing structure of the Certosa di San Girolamo di Casara, founded in the middle of the 14th century that was closed by Napoleon in 1797. The passion of the local nobility and aristocracy for monumental family tombs transformed the Certosa in an "open-air museum," a stage of the Italian grand tour: it was visited by Byron, Dickens, Theodor Mommsen, and Stendhal. In particular the third cloister (or that of the Chapel) is noteworthy a tour of neoclassicisminspired structures with simbology from the age of enlightenment. Some tombs are painted in tempera, others are made of stucco and scagliola.
The Basilica of Santo Stefano (Italian: Basilica di Santo Stefano) encompasses a complex of religious edifices in the city of Bologna, Italy. Located on Piazza Santo Stefano, it is locally known as Sette Chiese ("Seven Churches") and Santa Gerusalemme("Holy Jerusalem"). It has the dignity of minor basilica.
The Church of Santa Maria della Vita was founded in the second half of the 13th century by the Congregation of Battuti or Flagellati, whose name derived from their custom of flagellating themselves for penitence. The Congregation was one of the first in Italy that followed the Organization of the Disciplinati (or disciplined ones), established in Perugia in 1260 by Raniero Fasani. Members mainly devoted themselves to charitable activities, so much so that they built a hospital and church (Santa Maria della Vita) in 1287. The church, which is actually a shrine, was extended between 1454 and 1502 and rebuilt at the end of the 17th century by architect G. B. Bergonzoni after the ceiling collapsed in 1686. The dome was designed by Giuseppe Tubertini and built in 1787. The inside of the building features an elliptic layout and an elegant open style, and is home to the famous Compianto del Cristo Morto (Lamentation over the Dead Christ), a masterpiece of Italian sculpture. The piece was sculpted by Niccolò dell'Arca during the second half of the 15th century. On the high altar there is a fresco dating back to the second half of the 14th century portraying “Madonna della Vita”.
The Sanctuary of the Madonna of San Luca is a basilica church in Bologna, northern Italy, sited atop a forested hill, Colle or Monte della Guardia, some 300 metres above the city plain, just south-west of the historical centre of the city. While a road now leads up to the sanctuary, it is also possible to reach it along a 3.8 km monumental roofed arcade (Portico di San Luca) consisting of 666 arches, which was built in 1674-1793. It was meant to protect the icon as it was paraded up the hill. A yearly procession from the Cathedral of San Pietro in the centre of Bologna to the Sanctuary goes along this path. Originally the arches held icons or chapels erected by the patron family.